Trying to learn a few things….

Last nights sunset was beautiful. I walked over to the little lagoon and out onto to the pier to take a few shots. Wanted to take them in raw and jpeg but then realized I don’t have software to merge three pictures so I better just concentrate on the basics.

20120411-174224.jpg

I just need to practice composition, and learn the camera and how to take a sunset photo and what aperture and shutter speed. I wish this all came natural to me but right now it feels very foreign like being in a country where you don’t speak the language.

20120411-174533.jpg

I am just going to have to practice, practice, practice. Keep taking photos and keep reading and learning. I wish it was possible to just absorb it into your skin. Put it on like sun tan lotion!

20120411-174943.jpg

So after the sun went down I went back to the condo and practiced my other love…sewing, quilting…something else I am not particularly gifted at but am learning and enjoying and I’m okay with that. That’s what it’s all about. Here is the block called the Le Moyne star. It probably has other names. I am taking a class through my local quilting guild and we learned how to make y seams.

20120411-175427.jpg

Where three seams meet…that is a y seam…where the cream blocks meet the star diamonds, they weren’t hard to do, you just have to be precise in cutting and marking the 1/4 inch seam allowance and pin! I thought the block came out pretty good. And of course I had my seam ripper at the ready! If you mess up you can just rip it out and try again.

20120411-180205.jpg

Same thing with your photo.. If it isn’t good just delete it. I delete more than I keep. It was much harder in the film days…and more expensive. The beach has cleared off and it’s the perfect time of day. I need to go practice!

2 thoughts on “Trying to learn a few things….

Leave a Reply

