A little sewing on the beach

Gulf shores, Alabama has a beautiful beach and I have been coming here for years with my family. This year I have come alone although the kids have joined me for the weekend. It’s very different going down to the beach alone. Yesterday a good friend came over for the day, we went for a long walk on the beach and I did a little sewing on this baby.

20120410-081546.jpg

I love this featherweight. Sews like a dream and better yet it was my grandmothers. She bought it around 1950 to take on the train to California where she was going to visit some family. I love it that she was sewing on her trip so I guess I am just following in her footsteps. She would love that!

I made this little quilt which I think will become a pillow out of some leftover reunion charm squares. Love that fabric.

20120410-074248.jpg

Hope you have a great day wherever you are….I gotta get to the beach!

20120410-080328.jpg<br /

Leave a Reply

